Admission To First Year Diploma

Admissions to the first year Diploma Courses in private polytechnics for the Academic Year 2021-22 are to be made in accordance with the guidelines issued by the Department of Collegiate and Technical Education (DCTE), Government of Karnataka.

Admissions are to be made before the last date set by DCTE. Admissions made after the last date and those not as per the guidelines will not be approved.


Eligibility for all categories: Pass in SSLC or equivalent with minimum 35 percent of marks.

Karnataka students:
  • The candidate should study a minimum of five years from 1-10th Standard in Karnataka.
  • The reservation facilities will be given for Karnataka students only.
Non-Karnataka student:
  • Non-Karnataka students are not eligible for reservation.
  • Non-Karnataka students residing in Karnataka should submit a domicile certificate from the concerned Taluk office.

Admission To Second Year Diploma

Lateral Entry to second Year of Diploma

In accordance with the directive of AICTE, DCTE is permitting admissions to 2nd year of diploma through lateral entry for certain categories of students so that technical education is within the reach of eligible students.


The eligibility criteria is as given below:

All Programmes Duration Eligibility
Lateral entry to second year Diploma 2 years Passed 10+2 examination with Physics and Chemistry as compulsory subjects along with Mathematics / Biology subject or 10 + 2 Science (with Mathematics as one of the subject) or 10 + 2 Science with Technical Vocational subject or 10th + (2 years ITI) with appropriate Trade in that order shall be eligible for admission to second Year Diploma Courses of appropriate

Bridge Course Subjects ( As specified by DCTE)

Sl No ITI Trade Duration Eligible Diploma Course
1 Draftsman (Civil) 2 Civil
2 Mechanic (Radio & TV) 2 E & CE
3 Information Technology & Electronics System and Management (IT & ESM) 2 E & CE , CSE
4 Electronics 2 E & CE
5 Electrician 2 E & CE
6 Electronic Mechanic 2 E & CE

Reservation & Fee Structure: As per Government norms.